Uh-Oh! This is going to get expensive!

I swear I don’t go looking for these things…they just seem to land in my lap!  I follow many of the NYC food trucks (most of whom subsequently set up brick and mortar stores) on my twitter feed.  OK, so I do go looking for them.  I wasn’t planning on following their blogs though.  Really, I just wanted to know where to get the goods!  But lo and behold!  VLAIC (Van Leeuwen Artisan Ice Cream) tweeted a link to their latest blog post – and wouldn’t you know, it’s all about chocolate.  I learned two very important things:  first, good chocolate is much more expensive than even the $4.00 3oz bars I sampled last week and second, soy lecithin is unnecessary.  You can read the entire post here, but the gist of that little tidbit is that soy lecithin is added as an emulsifier.  The three companies they buy from don’t use it.  Instead, they use the pure cocoa butter that they press from their beans.  I have yet to sample the chocolate from any of them, but this task now tops my list.  Fortunately, Mast brothers is right here in Brooklyn, so I can start with them pretty easily and Michael Cluizel has a shop in the city, another relatively easy destination.  The third, Askinosie, will be a little trickier and might require an order.  His kilo of broken chocolate bars for baking sounds devine, but at $64 is a little rich for me without having tasted them first.  The other chocolatiers sell their single bars for $8 each.  Like I said, this is going to get expensive!  Now I really need to figure out how to start a baking club.  I need a group of people willing to pay a small fee to subsidize the cost of ingredients and equally willing to sample and provide feedback on my experiments.  If I keep doing all of this myself, I’ll be broke and fat!

If you’d like, you can check out the three chocolatiers used by VLAIC for yourself – enjoy!

http://uk.cluizel.com/chocolatier/michel-cluizel-/1.html

http://www.askinosie.com/default.aspx

http://mastbrothers.com/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Gone to the hips…

Visitors

  • 1,469 hits
