Still Eating Cookies (and other seasonal desserts)

Yes, it’s been four months since my last post, and we still have chocolate chip cookies in the freezer.  I did make the Treats Truck recipe, and followed that up with Williams Sonoma’s recipe.

It’s funny how different the four cookies were.  Of course, we learned with each recipe, so slight tweaks, such as chopping those giant chocolate chips, were incorporated to improve the final product.  It’s been so long, and my scientific method was all but obliterated, so I can’t report very technical results at this point.

I know when I bake my frozen Treats Truck cookies alone, I love them.  When I bake them in a side-by-side comparison to other recipes, their status changes.  They are certainly the crunchiest of the bunch, I think because they have more brown sugar in them than the others.  They are also the darkest cookie.

Williams Sonoma’s cookies seem to suffer a similar fate in that if they were the only cookie, I’d eat them with gusto, but when paired against other recipes, they aren’t my first choice.  My negligence with documenting the details leaves me unable to explain why, and will require a revisit to this topic in the future.

Meanwhile…there are so many other things I wanted to write about!  In February, I went to Turkey, visiting Istanbul and Capadoccia.  There are many food experiences to discuss, but the key one to remember is the Capadoccian apricot dessert that was made especially for us at a great little restaurant by its musician/owner.  It’s poached in a grape molasses syrup and served with whipped cream, and it is one of the best desserts I’ve ever eaten.  Following that, for my tasting buddy’s birthday, I made chocolate mousse cake, courtesy of my aunt’s recipe.  Yum!  In fact, there is still some frozen cupcake batter in the fridge for a rainy day.

And finally, now that summer has arrived, I’ve moved into fruit desserts, which is an area I don’t have much experience with.  This weekend I dabbled with a strawberry rhubarb crumble that I found on Smitten Kitchen.  I altered it slightly, replacing the lemon zest and juice with lime, the demerara sugar with light brown sugar, and adding a smidge of balsamic vinegar to the filling.  It was a huge hit at a family barbeque this weekend, and my tasting friend, who was a rhubarb virgin, gave it two thumbs up, saying he would eat the entire tray.  Tonight we’re using up the last of the rhubarb with a peach rhubarb crisp that was a combo of the Williams Sonoma Rhubarb-Ginger Crumble and the EatingWell Peach, Rhubarb & Ginger Crisp.  I made the EatingWell topping, subbing AP flour for whole wheat, almonds for pecans, and using all butter.  For the filling, I followed EatingWell, but added WS’s fresh ginger (about 1/2 TBSP) and a little balsamic as well as 1/2 tsp baking powder.

We’ll see how it turns out in about an hour!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Gone to the hips…

Visitors

  • 1,469 hits
